Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Music discussion

Topic: Can someone give me a kind of step by step procedure to start mixing at a basic level?

Dieses Thema ist veraltet und kann veraltete oder falsche Informationen enthalten.

frank79Home userMember since 2008
...I mean, something like this:

1- Check the the cross fader is completely on the left and the volume of Deck B is off.
2- Load Music on Deck A
3- Now load music on Deck B e put on you headphones
- etc....etc.....

I am asking this because, because I am an absolute beginner and I still don't know if I must concentrate more on the track which the audience hear or on the track which I hear on my headphones.....

geposted Fri 26 Mar 10 @ 6:48 am
de_lesPRO InfinityMember since 2010
it kinda goes like this:p

play a song the people can hear...
choose the song you want to play next(in your headphones ofc,choose the point where you want this song to start)
put your equalizers all 3 on 9 o''clock,fade the song in on the apropiate time(you do know the 32 beat count do you?)
now start working with those equalizers,bring the new song in,and try to determine wich certain sounds you want out of the mix...until the second song is completely in...

most easy to learn this way

fader down,look for a new song,and repeat :)

and please concentrate on the song that's playing(choosing a new song should'nt take more than 1 minute,even less...)
add some effects,use those equalizers,and enjoy the people!

if you want to mix the bass of the new song in,it's best to wait for a break,and add the bass from the new song(while fading the other out,otherwise you get one hell of a bass^^)
like when you see a break coming,try to slowly fade your bass out,then bring the new one in...

it's all about practice,practice,practice,and then some more practice...

this could help u out...

http://www.djtutor.com/index.php (ellaskins)

lesly

geposted Fri 26 Mar 10 @ 6:06 pm
frank79Home userMember since 2008
thanks for your post.

Very useful