Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: android remote vdj8 guide - Page: 1

Dieser Teil des Themas ist veraltet und kann veraltete oder falsche Informationen enthalten

Shouldn't there be a (complete noob) guide somewhere for the android remote setup? I can't find it...

The only info I can find is in this thread: http://www.virtualdj.com/forums/201330/General_Discussion/_NEW__VirtualDJ_Remote_v_8_available_now_for_iOS_and_Android_.html?search=remote&page=1

Silly me, I just bought the app thinking it would connect over Bluetooth, but in the description they only talk about WIFI... My DJ computer does not have a network card because I don't want it online ever. I used a USB dongle to activate Windows (and Virtual DJ). So connecting over WIFI is out of the question. Then I discovered that my tablet doesn't have Bluetooth (WTF?). What are my options?

P.S.: I'm a total noob in wireless PC connections. I haven't worked with VNP connections yet. I installed Bonjour from Apple, but still no dice. I configured the tablet as a WIFI hotspot, still nothing.

I would buy another tablet, if necessary, one with BT... But is it even working with Bluetooth? Working properly, that is. Because I read somewhere that Scott didn't recommend a Bluetooth connection... He would have his reasons...

geposted Tue 21 Jul 15 @ 5:50 pm
SBDJPRO Infinity Member since 2006
We recommend using a Wi-Fi connection, however it will work over any local IP network connection, so bluetooth or USB tethering should also be fine. You may find bluetooth a bit more laggy though.

geposted Tue 21 Jul 15 @ 6:48 pm
So is there a connection setup guide available, Scott? Do I need Bonjour? Is Bleutooth the only option for non-network card computers?

geposted Tue 21 Jul 15 @ 7:14 pm
Bonjour on your PC gives you the ability to automatically connect without manually entering the IP address.

If you have no WiFi or Bluetooth then you would have to USB tether.

geposted Wed 22 Jul 15 @ 3:54 am