Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Technical Support

Topic: The value of verbs are incorrect when used on encoders
seanPRO InfinityMember since 2018
I'm just learning about scripting in VirtualDJ and I'm trying to get the size of a loop using the following:
get_loop & param_cast & debug

I noticed if I place this on a button it works fine and returns the correct value but using the same code on a encoder (On a Kontrol X1) it always returns "Int: 1". I've also tried other verbs like "get_clock" and they don't seem to return the correct value when used on an encoder? What am I missing here?

My code, while not complete is trying to replicate Traktors functionality where when you move a loop forward the play head stays inside the loop and seems to be working if not for this issue I'm facing:

loop_move +1 &
param_smaller get_loop_in_time "get_time elapsed" ?
get_loop & param_cast 'relative' & goto

geposted Mon 12 Dec 22 @ 8:17 pm
You need to better understand how encoders and implicit parameters work I guess..

Each time you move an encoder it sends a value. This value is a relative movement. Eg. -1 (a step back) or +1 (a step forward) Some encoders may send 0 for back and +1 for forward, or some may send 0 for forward and -1 for back.
Also keep in mind that when you're mapping sliders/encoders their value also becomes a parameter that's often used implicitly.

For encoders that send -1/+1 for movement, you can map actions like this: loop_move
That's because it gets automatically translated as "loop_move -1" and "loop_move +1" and therefore it moves the loop around by one beat.
However for encoders that send 0/+1 or -1/0 the same script becomes: param_bigger 0 ? loop_move +1 : loop_move -1
You can see on this example that we use a param query. We are actually fetching the implicit parameter (value) of the encoder.

PS: An exact copy of the code you're trying to use and have issues with could be helpful.