Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Technical Support

Topic: New laptop, intermittent static crackling noise
I've been using my Old Laptop for near 6 years now, and Went to switch out to My new Laptop, a Lenovo Legion. (Don't Have it with me ATM, I'll Update with its Specs later.) Using VDJ Infinity
I am using a Yamaha MG10XUF mixer.
Never had issues with My Asus, But when I tried to start using the Lenovo I would get a crackling static sound filter into the music every few minutes, fading in for about 20 - 30 seconds and then fading out. I know it isn't an Issue with the mixer, because it worked fine with my old Laptop, still does.
I tried everything on the Optimization suggestions posted here.
I've tried swapping usb cables several times.
Sadly I have pretty much done everything recommended there. the only thing I haven't done is install an older Video card driver. I haven't done this because it isn't a video issue. The laptop runs very smoothly.
I had the Task Manager open, every time I tried to trouble shoot it, watching for memory spikes and apps eating resources, I got nothing.
I even turned off everything running in the background that I could.
Even before I did that, while running VDJ, Chrome with a couple dozen tabs open, my song request app, and a couple open Folders, The CPU ran an average of 15%, lowest at 6%, highest at 38%.
The Memory Maintained around 45 to 59% usage.
it drove me nuts because nothing abnormally spiked during the Sound issue events.
I Tried a dozen different "Fixes" I found in searches, and gave up, finally, after I had to reload my laptop to pervious save the 2nd time. Anyone have any help to share on this to hopefully fix it, before I just end up buying yet another new laptop and hope the Same issue doesn't arise?

please help

geposted Tue 28 Mar 23 @ 3:40 am
PIka4oHome userMember since 2023
and how do other dj programs work? is there a problem with sound too? what does VDJ have to do with it

geposted Tue 28 Mar 23 @ 6:48 am