Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Skins

Topic: Simplified Skin for Kids
t0manPRO InfinityMember since 2020
Hello!

I have been thinking about whether it's possible to create a very simple skin with just basic selected elements, to be eventually used by a kid.
I am not a coder, so the only help might be chatGPT, but I believe here is still a better place to ask for even some initial advice.

I guess it's doable, seeing such a real controller alike looking skins, to make just a simple thing as well. But how could I start with that?

Cheers!

geposted Sat 16 Dec 23 @ 12:10 am
locoDogPRO InfinityModeratorMember since 2013
Don't bother with gpt, unless you know the subject, you'll be chasing errors you probably won't be able to spot.

You start here, and understanding the basics of html would help
https://www.virtualdj.com/wiki/SkinSDK8.html

change some colours, move some stuff, resize some stuff, understand how to make stuff conditionally visible, add some buttons, then get to grips with plaveholders.

default:starter is as entry level as it gets, it could be made simpler but I think anything simpler would be outgrown very quickly.

geposted Sat 16 Dec 23 @ 3:38 am
Thank you for your response.
Yeah it seems like in this case chatGPT might not be very helpful. It would need to be specifically trained on VDJ documentation + vision functionality to be able to understand what I actually mean.

So, as you said, getting to basics seems the only way and it's gonna be pretty challenging ;)

default:starter is waaay too complicated when it comes to what I'd like to achieve.

I went through the documentation quickly to have just general understanding.

Can I presume, that the good way would be to draw the design first, adding comments with exact coordinates at every element, so that I can then "describe" it in the code? Like just literally starting with only boxes and circles, that I can then also tag as specific buttons.