Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: some help for a noob!!

Dieses Thema ist veraltet und kann veraltete oder falsche Informationen enthalten.

hi all...need some help ...
i have 2 turntabels a mixer and pc (i have atomix working fine with 2 sound cards)
my question is this ... if i buy the time encoded discs from this web site and use virtual dj software (v4.0) do i need special stylus.... do i need a special sound card or can i use the two i have in my pc..
would i be able to plug the decks straight into my mixer and use my set up as it is?
i have looked at the web site but does not help me much.... im sure the questions are stupid to most users but as i said im new to this set up...
please please help
thanks
dj jarvis

geposted Wed 13 Dec 06 @ 8:05 pm
sbangsPRO InfinityMember since 2004
http://www.virtualdj.com/products/timecode/ for most info on time codes

you will need a soundcard with dual strero inputs

such as u46dj

or you can use the lines in of two cards

on your pc

i recomend for this however u use the asio for all cards driver

please get the lastest demo 4.1r2

for this remember that you will pro for sustained usage

geposted Wed 13 Dec 06 @ 8:12 pm

Yes, you can connect your turntables to your mixer (for real vinyls) AND to a soundcard (for timecode input), and with timecode vinyls, you can control the software, and play mp3s just as if it was "on" your vinyls ;)

you dont need a special soundcard really, but you need a soundcard though, that has TWO line ins, for your turntables, AND two line outs to mixer (from VDJ).

And prefferably a soundcard that works in ASIO driver mode, for super low latency (matters specially if you scratch much).

Such soundcards can be Soundblaster PCI card, ESI U46dj USB card, or firefire cards.
A good Soundblaster 4.1/5.1 card will do fine.

You can also see a good diagram of the setup here:
http://www.virtualdj.com/blog/Dams/blog738.html

Hope that helps ;)

geposted Wed 13 Dec 06 @ 8:15 pm
hi all...