Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: Playing AVI files on MAC

Dieses Thema ist veraltet und kann veraltete oder falsche Informationen enthalten.

I am having problems playing AVI files on V5 of VDJ for mac. I used to use the Windows Media Player decoder on PC instead of the internal video decoder. It shows that it loads and audio plays but no video. Any suggestions?

thanks!

Jeremy

geposted Mon 04 Feb 08 @ 10:28 pm

Oh yeah, and I know for a fact that the AVIs that I'm trying to play were created using the 3ivx codec for Windows and I have installed the 3ivx codec pack for Mac. I would think that should fix it but it hasn't. But I am still pretty new to the video troubleshooting world so I could be way off hehe.

thanks for any help

Jeremy

geposted Mon 04 Feb 08 @ 10:47 pm
sbangsPRO InfinityMember since 2004
.avi is a container for many types of file ,to my understanding 3ivx codec is a mpg based codec which can be decoded with software included in quick time so try changing .avi on Config > codecs to quicktime video decoder.

geposted Sat 09 Feb 08 @ 7:34 am

nope, still not working. When I use the Quicktime Decoder I get an ERROR msg on load. But when I use the Internal Decoder it plays audio but no video. I'm pretty sure that when I installed 3ivx, it installed into Quicktime (but I still can't play these files with quicktime either - I get video but no sound hehe) Is there a way to install the 3ivx codec into the VDJ Internal Decoder?

thanks!
J

geposted Sat 09 Feb 08 @ 7:41 pm
sbangsPRO InfinityMember since 2004
The internal video decoder will use codecs installed on your machine could you please try to play the same files in Quicktime player to check if this is a problem with your mac or VDJ

could you upload one of these videos for me to test ? to say www.mediafire.com and send me a link via private message.

geposted Sat 09 Feb 08 @ 8:14 pm

sure thing. Actually Quicktime will play video only and no audio so it's kind of confusing hehe.