Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: Problems with sound

Dieses Thema ist veraltet und kann veraltete oder falsche Informationen enthalten.

Let me start by saying that I've been using VDJ on this same computer system for about two years. This is a custom-built rackmount PC with an Intel mobo and dual core 2.0Ghz or so CPU. (I'm having to remember this because the system isn't here with me). It has 4GB of memory.

I'm running Windows XP Pro. This computer has a Buffalo WiFi card built in, a Maya internal sound card, one built-in hard drive for the OS and another hot-swap for music (so I can bring it in and keep it updated).

I had a reception a few weeks ago and everything was running great. Last night, at a party, I started experiencing some very poor performance. I really don't recall doing any updates between events, but if I did it was probably stuff through Windows Update.

In the past, I've been able to run VDJ, Compuware (DMX Lighitng controller), and Adobe Audition all at the same time with now problems. Last night, if I tried doing ANYTHING else with VDJ running, the song would audibly slow down and even come to a stop.

I found the latency checker and disabled alot of stuff, including the WiFi card, on-board LAN, on-board audio, etc. I got the DPC into the green, but would still have audio problems if I opened Windows Explorer. I made it thorugh two events like this, just being extremely careful about what I did. The troublesome thing is that this system has worked great for so long, and now - without anything changing that I can put a finger on - it's having all sorts of problems.

I've disabled several drivers, even uninstalling the video driver, as well as some other programs, to no avail.

Any suggestions? I'll probably bring the rig in and can provide more specifics if needed.

Thanks!

geposted Sun 01 Mar 09 @ 2:25 am