Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: DJing/Music Production Setup

Dieses Thema ist veraltet und kann veraltete oder falsche Informationen enthalten.

After many hours of deliberating, I have decided to take the plunge & get into DJing/Music production (Dance/House) properly.

I have some experience with DJing but only off my PC with VDJ – i.e. without controllers or anything. I have looked on the net for some products that I would consider buying and here’s a setup that, in my limited knowledge, will suite me:

1 x E-mu 1616m Cardbus (for laptop)
2 x Numark iCDX
1 x Numark CM200USB

I don’t really want/need all the functions of the iCDXs (e.g. cd, usb, iPod mixing) so if someone could recommend something better suited because all I need is to control VDJ desks. Quality is very important to me, both in sound quality and in build quality, so I’d rather spend more money now than regret it later. On that note, I would also say that if someone could recommend a different piece of hardware that would suit me better then I would also appreciate it. I would also like to get into scratching so the equipment needs to be able to handle that properly…

Basically how I would set it up is, the two iCDX’s connected to my PC controlling VDJ, with two outputs (Desk A & B – separately, I think VDJ can do this) from the E-mu to Channel 1 & 2 of the CM200USB. The following is the part I’m not sure about, can I get the CM200USB (through the 2 USB channels) to control the Effects software of the E-mu? That way that I can have 2 different effects set-up and then use say channels 3 & 4 to control the levels of the effects added to the VDJ output, which is being sent to Channels 1 & 2?

I also don’t know if the software bundled with the 1616m will be adequate for my needs (Dance/House production) if someone who has experience in these things tell me more then I’d appreciate it…

geposted Mon 12 May 08 @ 2:54 am