Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Skins

Topic: Deck on a floated window - Page: 1
Hi there.
I'm totally new to Virtualdj, I come from Rekordbox (and Traktor previusly).
It's not that I want you to solve my problems, I tried to do it myself, I looked for information, but I can't find the solution.
I want to modify a skin to have 2 decks on different screens, like a floated browser: http://www.virtualdj.com/wiki/Browser%20in%20Window.html

Could anyone tell me what exact line of code I have to add to an existing skin in order to make the decks "floated" and have two decks on two separate screens (and a browser on a third screen).
Thank you.

geposted Sun 01 Jan 23 @ 4:28 pm
Unfortunately it's not that easy as adding just a few lines of code on an existing skin.
While the browser consists mainly of a single element (named <browser /> in the skin engine) and thus it's easy to put it on a separate window with just a few lines of code, a "deck" consists of several components linked together.
Putting a deck inside a floating window requires you to "copy"/"move" all those elements inside the window code. It's not hard, but it's not as easy as to inject a few lines of code the browser requires.
Also since the default VirtualDJ skin can have many forms (views) it's also difficult for us to just give you some sort of code of how to move a deck.
However, if you want just a particular look/view, perhaps you can share it with us and we'll check if it's possible to do with "just a few lines of code"

PS: Of course it's 100% possible to have decks on floating windows. I want to be very clear about this. It's not even "hard" if you understand how skins and skin code works. However (as I said already) it's not as easy as typing a few lines of code!

geposted Thu 05 Jan 23 @ 11:23 am
Hello PhantomDeejay,
you write here: